Hawaii iOS Developer Meetup – Session 45

There’s no stream from this meetup to post, well there is, but O’Neil kept his email address prominently displayed during the screen capture and he asked that I not post it online – all good, I just need remember to watch out for this next time.

During this meetup, O’Neil showed us about Container Views. I gotta confess that I have never used a container view, but now that I know how to hook them up, I’m itching for a reason to use one in one of the apps I’m working on.

The way a container view works is that it holds a reference to another view controller and displays that view controller’s content in the current view controller. It’s a lot like picture in picture on a TV.

When you want to change the picture in the picture, you tell the containing picture to change what it’s displaying inside itself.

At the end of the meetup, Leo, asked if he could present at the next meetup. I was ecstatic. He’s never presented before and I really wanted this meetup to be a chance for people to stretch themselves. Glad to see it’s working. Bottom line, and I’m seeing it everywhere, is that you need to raise the expectations for people to give them something to strive for.

Please RSVP if you’re interested in attending next week’s meetup. Aloha!

Author: David Neely

Professional Software Developer. Technology and Web Coordinator at the University of Hawaii's Manoa Career Center.