Hawaii iOS Developer Meetup – Session 35

We took another run at ARKit during this meetup. I wanted to focus on this great tutorial series called ARKit by Example. The code was originally written in Objective C so I ported it to Swift.

Preparing for this talk was an excellent opportunity. I was able to learn how to integrate SceneKit with physics. It was also great to have Adam there in attendance to fill in some of the gaps in my knowledge regarding ARKit.

For example, when you create a SCNNode in SceneKit you leave the shape argument as nil. This is standard practice that allows SceneKit to figure out the shape of the node it is creating based on the simple geometry we initialized the node with.

I’m learning so much from the other developers. I hope there are other ways I can give back for everything that I have learned by doing this meetup every Thursday.

Worked on ARKit dominoes this weekend with the knew knowledge I gained from this ARKit meetup. This week O’Neil is back in the mix. He’ll be giving a talk on Instruments in Xcode to do memory and battery profiling. Please RSVP if you’re interested in attending!

Author: David Neely

Professional Software Developer. Technology and Web Coordinator at the University of Hawaii's Manoa Career Center.