Hawaii iOS Developer Meetup – Session 23

Gotta love the mob programming challenges. I feel that that’s what the developers (even the ones who don’t end up participating) enjoy the most. There’s something magical about watching other people code.

This week’s topic was Foundation. I was at a loss for how to prepare for the subject this week. In order to learn more about the subject I first started by posting questions to the developers on the meetup page:

What are you most interested in discussing with Foundation?

I got a request from O’Neill to compare and contrast Foundation and UIKit. I got a request from Ryan to go over localization. With those 2 requests in mind, I got to work researching Foundation, Localization, and UIKit.

In my research I learned that UIKit is written on top of Foundation. So there are no real tradeoffs or benefits – by using UIKit, you need to bring in the Foundation framework.

I looked into Localization to attend to Ryan’s request to find out more about how he could localize menu items in his app TouchOven. When I researched further into Localization, I found that there is a full Localization library that can be utilized. With the idea of focusing on Foundation from the extending and open source scope, I pivoted and started researching more about the open source aspects of Foundation.

Turns out that Foundation is a rewrite of Foundation from Objective C. The Foundation class is being re-written in Swift to leverage the Swift compiler. Not all of the functions that are in the Objective C implementation of Foundation. In the meantime they are suggesting the developers create bridging headers to access the additional capabilities of Swift’s Foundation while the ports are still being made.

Fantastic meetup and lots of gaps in my knowledge regarding Swift have been cleared up. Next week, Adam Smith, will be delivering a talk on Core Data. I can’t wait! RSVP if you’re interested in attending!

Author: David Neely

Professional Software Developer. Technology and Web Coordinator at the University of Hawaii's Manoa Career Center.