Whiteboard White-knuckling – Part 3

img_1729Today I had J do an insertion sort. We only had about 20 minutes to work through it today. As the timer ticked down, I stopped him when he had 5 minutes left before his shift ended.

He wasn’t able to complete the insertion sort today. When he described where he got stuck he said, “I feel like I’m suppose to move the selected element above the list then move all of the items that have been previously passed through all to the left at once.”

He’s going to attempt to code out the insertion sort on Wednesday. I asked him not to look up the insertion sort online in the meantime. I look forward to these sorting algorithm challenges🙂

Click here to see Part 2 – Merge Sort

Click here to see Part 1 – Bubble Sort

Author: David Neely

Professional Software Developer. Technology and Web Coordinator at the University of Hawaii's Manoa Career Center.