Just submitted my first post to Hacker News

IMG_8933Very happy to have posted my first post to Hacker News. This weekend I hacked together 2 scripts that I have been wanting on my computer for a long time.

Gotta remember next time to post it with “Show HN:” in the future. I have been reading HN for a very long time and it’s nice to have finally posted something up there that I made.

I plan on posting more now that I have an account with my name. I want to get into more discussions on HN and maybe start responding to some questions, or give my feedback on things.

I’m glad that I set it up with my real name. That’ll keep me professional in all of my online comments.

Journal

Every single day I start out by creating a new text file with the following headings:

DOING:

DONE:

NOTES:

QUOTES:

I write for a while in the NOTES section and gather my thoughts freely for about 20 minutes. Once the 20 minutes are up I look through the notes and group the action items into the DOING section. Then I take another 2 minutes to organize this list and prioritize it.

My entire day revolves around this list that I create in the morning. Hackers are lazy right? I wanted a way to automate the creation of this daily text file. So I wrote one up and tested it this weekend.

journal

Quote

I was inspired to create this script when I installed ‘fortune’ on my computer. Fortune prints out a cool fortune to the command line. I collect quotes and I wanted to have a quick way to access these quotes.

I created a script that pulls a random quote from a quotes.txt file and prints it to the command line.

quote

Hacker News

There’s a hacker meetup in the new room that I helped to design and create at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. I want to showcase these two scripts today.

I have a student assistant that I am working with. My goal is to have him post something on Hacker News by the end of this semester. We are working on a network map in our office.

Rather than have him post something to Hacker News without having done it myself, I decided to post these 2 utilities to HN to see how the process went. It was very easy. I did learn that HN has a limit on how many articles you can post at a time. I am currently waiting to post a link to Journal.

Links:

Author: David Neely

Professional Software Developer. Technology and Web Coordinator at the University of Hawaii's Manoa Career Center.