Ideas for Human Computer Interaction Study

mcc-logoI am taking ICS 464  at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. I need to come up with a project idea and I want to flip it and use it for my work. I want to be able to write up something that will benefit my employer.

There are a few things that I am interested in updating on our website. I am interested in creating ways to gauge if users are interested in certain parts of our website more than others.

I have looked into the Javascript Observer pattern that records mouse movements and can play them back on page. This is beneficial because you can actually play back a session.

Paid services that provide usability metrics

crazyEggFeaturesCrazyEgg.com

clicktaleFeatures

Clicktale.com

The best things that these services offer are:

  • Heatmaps – Display where users move their mouse to.
  • Scroll distance calculators –  Show how much of the page they have scrolled to.
  • Jump off points – Show where users get frustrated and leave your website.

I am also interested in how to make our interactive brochure of a website more compelling and interesting to listen to on a screen reader. I want to find out if tags are read out loud or not.

“Know thy users for they are not you.” – HCI Proverb

I want to curate the experience of parsing a page on a screen reader. I want to hear how it sounds on a screen reader. Then I want to see how I can update our website to make the content more inviting; and make the process of doing things on the website easier and less frustrating.

I would like to hire blind beta testers for the usability study.

I would also like to make a checklist for creating a good usability study.

I am currently using Google Analytics on our website. It’s easy enough to integrate into a website with the Google Analytics code. //TODO: Insert link to how to article on integrating google analytics into wordpress.

Potential Usability Targets

Workshop Registration

workshops

URL: http://manoa.hawaii.edu/careercenter/students/workshops/

Wants:

  • More compelling.
  • More engaging.
  • Less tedious.

Career Counsellor Registration

counselling

URL: http://manoa.hawaii.edu/careercenter/students/career-counseling/

Wants:

  • Portray current state of sign ups. What times are still available?
  • Suggest other options after sign up is successful: Sign up for a workshop, learn more about our programs and services, ask a question.
  • Less tedious.

Career Fair Registration

careerfair

URL: http://manoa.hawaii.edu/careercenter/students/career-counseling/

Wants:

  • More compelling.
  • More engaging.
  • Less tedious.

Search functionality

search

URL: http://manoa.hawaii.edu/careercenter/search/

Wants:

  • More compelling.
  • More engaging.
  • Less tedious.

Summary

I am meeting with Professor Suthers today to discuss this project. Once this meeting is finished I am hoping to have refined the area of interest for this project. I also would like to have a clear framework for how to get started.

Author: David Neely

Professional Software Developer. Technology and Web Coordinator at the University of Hawaii's Manoa Career Center.